Experience of Assessment on Practicum

During practicum I evolved my assessment strategies to be higher order to fit with the inquiry based teaching approach. In the beginning I attempted some of my old assessment forms including a diagnostic jeopardy game and a multiple choice quiz. These were very superficial and did not measure more than the recall ability of my students.

Space Quiz 1 Space Quiz 2

Over time I developed assessments which were more about explaining and evaluating.

Tides Worksheet

By the end of practicum I was setting tasks which were challenging students to make wind turbines more efficient. This last form of assessment was very engaging for students and tested a very wide range of skills and understandings. It involved higher order thinking skills such as creating wind turbines which is the highest run in the Blooms taxonomy triangle.

Independent Investigation 1Independent Investigation 2

Leave a Reply

